Ching Chung Koon is a Taoist temple complex in Tuen Mun District, Hong Kong. Its name was derived from "ching chung" or evergreen pine tree which was likened to a righteous by Lu Dongbin, one of the Eight Immortals of Taoism, in one of his metaphors.
Built by the Dragon Gate sect of the Quanzhen School of Taoism as a rural retreat in 1949, the temple has undergone numerous expansions and renovations through the years. Today, the temple complex has evolved into a popular place of beauty and venue for peaceful meditation in Tuen Mun.
The temple is also the final resting place for the cremated remains of former community members. During the Ching Ming and Chung Yeung Festivals, relatives and come to the temple to honor the deceased.
The complex' main building, dubbed the Palace of Pure Brightness, houses priceless treasures: lanterns from the Beijing Imperial Palace (more commonly known as the Forbidden City). Another gallery, the Hall of Cloud and Water, displays fine Chinese calligraphy created by scholars in the 1970s as tributes to the full moon during the Mid-Autumn Festival.
Outside the temple is an exquisitely landscaped gardens dotted with pagodas, pavilions, pai laus (ornamental archways), expansive lawns, and tranquil ponds. The Chinese garden features a wide variety of trees and potted blooms with vibrant colors.
Ching Chung Koon also plays host to an annual bonsai exhibition featuring hundreds of artistically shaped miniature trees, some of which are centuries old.
Located inside the Ching Chung Koon complex is a restaurant serving vegetarian dishes and a clinic offering affordable medical services to nearby residents.
Ching Chung Koon can be reached at Tsing Chung Path, Tsing Chung Koon Road, Tuen Mun, New Territories. To get there, take a taxi from MTR Siu Hong Station or take Light Rail 505 to Ching Chung Station.
Ching Chung Koon Temple in Tuen Mun, Hong Kong Photos