The Old Wan Chai Post Office is a charming Chinese-styled building located at at No. 221 Queen's Road East, at the junction with Wan Chai Gap Road. It is dubbed as the oldest surviving post office building in Hong Kong having been erected between 1912 and 1913 and opened to the public on 1 March 1915.
The building features an L-shaped configuration with simple pitched-roof decorated with attractive gable ends and mouldings.
The building served as a post office serving the Wan Chai community for 77 years. On May 18, 1990, the Old Wan Chai Post Office became a declared monument. It is the only building declared as a monument in the Wan Chai area. In 1992, the post office ceased operations.
Today, the building is home to the Resource Centre of the Environmental Protection Department, which opened its doors to the public in December 1993. The aim of the centre is to provide public education on all matters environmental, with its touch-screen environmental information system, a reference library and display boards. There is also an Environmental Garden whose wall is made of recycled bricks recovered during the refurbishment of the historic building.
Environmental Resource Centre is open daily, from 10:00am to 5:00pm, except Tuesdays and Public Holidays. Admission is free of charge.